Posted on

Games People Play

joe_south_quote_end Oct 10, 2013

I can’t seem to make it through the day without reading the comics. I have two websites bookmarked on my laptop and a comic app on my phone and iPad. GoComics.com is a great comic collection. I can catch up on childhood favorites like Alley Oop and Dick Tracy. Then there are a few newer strips that give a chuckle and insight to the events of the day. GoComicshas a comment section for each strip and I often find as much fun reading the comments as I do in reading the strip. The Discussion on Wednesday’s “Nancy” got around to a song I remember from my youth. Joe South had a big hit with “Games People Play”. As I listened to that song, I realized that the songwriter was really stating an indictment against us as “Christians”.

Yes, we play games. We play them with each other, but worse that that we play them with God. And notice I say “we”. I’m including myself. Those who can, remember the words to the song. Those who are reading the words for the first time or need a refresher, Think on them.

Oh the games people play nowEvery night and every day nowNever meaning what they say nowNever saying what they mean. And they wile away the hoursIn their ivory towersTill they’re covered up with flowersIn the back of a black limousine.

[Chorus:]La-da da da da da da daLa-da da da da da deTalking ’bout you and meAnd the games people play.

Oh we make one another cry.Break a heart then we say goodbye.Cross our hearts and we hope to dieThat the other was to blame. Neither one will give in.So we gaze at our eight by ten,Thinking ’bout the things that might have beenIt’s a dirty rotten shame.

[Chorus]

People walking up to youSinging glory halleluliaAnd they’re tryin to sock it to youIn the name of the Lord. They’re gonna teach you how to meditate.Read your horoscope, cheat your faithAnd further more to hell with hateCome on and get on board.

[Chorus]

Look around tell me what you see.What’s happening to you and me.God grant me the serenityTo remember who I am. Cause you’ve given up your sanityFor your pride and your vanity.Turns you sad on humanityAnd you don’t give a da da da da da.

Yep, we play those games. We play them with our family, friends, coworkers and even at church. The LORD’s house is the last place we need to play games. I really believe there are going to be many surprised souls at the judgment when the Creator looks at then and says, “Depart from me, I never knew you.” We may be playing a game, but God isn’t. We need to realize that and understand what it means. We need to take the Christian life seriously and focus on what really matters… Making disciples. But to do that, we must be committed to Him and not to personal recognition. Remember, when we are working for the LORD, He is the One who gets the glory. No recognition from man can take the place of having the Master look at you and say, “Well done good and faithful servant.”

IHS

Steve (Hoss)

About santahoss

Retired Educator Happily Married 30+ years

Leave a Reply

