Posted on

Faith before Reason

Originally posted Oct 16, 2013

10-16-13

Non-believers tell me that the Bible is contradictory. They show me passages that seem to contradict one another or say something against teachings found elsewhere.  There are times I can explain the “contradiction” and there are times I cannot. When I cannot reconcile the problem, I simply admit that I don’t know everything. But I do know the whole book is true and inerrant. I may not understand why scriptures seem to contradict, but I know they don’t.

I firmly believe that for the person of faith, no proof is necessary and for the person of reason, no proof is sufficient. That which appears to be contradictory is not. There is reconciliation. God will reveal it when I need to know. Or did you not realize that God works with us on a need to know basis. Scripture tells us everything we need to know to reach God and to gain a home with Him for eternity. It is not a scientific writing, nor is a historical document. It is God’s revelation of Himself to man.

And in revealing Himself to us, we gain insight into ourselves.

What I don’t understand is why people have such trouble accepting things on faith. I mean, in the sciences, we accept some basic statements to be true without question and we build everything else on those statements. We do the same thing in mathematics.

Euclidean geometry is based on five postulates (Basically statements we hold to be self evident). Change the postulates and we change the geometry. The same is true for the sciences. There are basic statements we assume to be true without any proof. We call them “theories”. The problem lies in the fact that our most basic theories are taken as fact. The biggest debate is evolution vs. intelligent design. As far as I’m concerned, both are valid scientific theories. The problem lies in the fact that the scientific establishment totally rejects intelligent design as a valid theory. So they assume that since one theory is totally wrong the other must be fact. Now that’s a logical flaw if I ever saw one.

Yes I know my whole concept of the scientific world is based on my belief in Jesus of Nazareth as the Son of God Almighty. Therefore I’m accused of believing a “fairy tale” or a “myth.” In a later writing, I will attempt to debunk the evolutionary theory in a logical manner. If one wishes to prove something there are certain rules of logic to be followed. One cannot simply say, “that theory is wrong” without presenting reasons for such a statement.

As a science and math instructor, I have made one important discovery. The more I learn about the nature of the universe, the more I understand the nature of the Creator.

What we fail to realize is that science is the study of the creation and how it works. Whether we understand it of not has any bearing on how it works. But even the mathematics is precise and well defined. It is no accident. But that’s another lesson.

Remember Paul’s words to Timothy… All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: (2 Tim 3:16}

IHS

Steve (Hoss)

About santahoss

Retired Educator Happily Married 30+ years

Leave a Reply

