Posted on

Got Faith? Pray!

Nov 5, 2013

Got Faith? Pray!

Have you ever doubted your faith? How do you know your faith is the real thing? It’s a simple check on yourself… Look at your prayer life. If we have the faith we claim to have, we will spend time with the Savior. He is the source of power in our lives. He is our mediator between us and The Father.

If we truly believe then He will be the first person we speak to when we wake up and the last person we speak with before going to sleep. We will chat with Him several times throughout the day. Remember, “Enoch walked with God, and was not, For God took him.”(Gen 5:24)

Wouldn’t it be great if we could be so close to God that He just took us home with him one day? No one else was that close and we know of our heroes, our Hall of Faith. God referred to Abraham as His friend. David was a man after God’s own heart. Moses Spoke directly with God, as did Elijah.

How is this possible? We know they were men of faith. And we also know they spent time in prayer. Even God’s son, Jesus, who was God incarnate, spent time alone with the father. We need that time. And time spent in prayer is time spent learning about the Father and drawing closer to him. And on top of that, we show our faith. You don’t ask something of a person if you don’t expect to receive. You ask, expecting an answer in accordance to what you are requesting. But we must ask within His will and submit to His will.

“Well, why do I need to ask within His will? Seems that He has already decided, so why ask?”

Let me put it this way… If you don’t ask, then you are not showing your faith, so if you have not the faith, why try to prove something you don’t want to believe anyway?

I know, that sounds like double talk. But it isn’t. The closer we get to God, the more we realize what He wants for us. The more we will request from him and God being the generous Father will supply our needs and our desires within His will. If we are in His will, we will have no bad desires. Just talk to Him. He is in that empty chair next to you.

We all need to get closer to God and show our faith. To do that, we need to pray. When we pray we show we believe God will supply our needs. I’m guilty of not praying enough. I need to boost my prayer life. I know these letters I’m writing are helping me grow. Many times, as I write, I find myself talking to me. I pledge to you that I will spend more time with my Savior and God and work on that closer walk, and look forward to that day when He says, “Come home with me.”

In fact, nothing tells the story about your faith like your prayer life. Nothing.

And to top it off, as you pray, doubt will flee.

You have my prayers

Steve (Hoss)

 

About santahoss

Retired Educator Happily Married 30+ years

Leave a Reply

