Posted on

I Pledge…

A past look into the past…

11-20-13

“I pledge allegiance to the Bible, God’s Holy Word. I will make it lamp unto my feet, a light unto my path, and I will hide its words in my heart that I might not sin against God.”

I have recited that pledge, along with Pledges to the American and Christian flags, each year at Vacation Bible School.  As I reflect on these words, I pause to wonder… How serious do we take this pledge? Do we really believe the Bible is God’s Holy Word? If so, then we also must believe it’s inspired… God breathed.

There are Bible scholars that will tell us that the first eleven chapters of Genesis is a myth, a “fairy tale”. One dear friend once told me that he believed it was simply a story, but there were certain truths God wanted us to know. As I spoke with him I realized that he was still telling me that the scripture was inspired and that he and I were experiencing a difference of interpretation.

There is a similar difference between “Day-Age” creationists and “Young Earth” creationists. The “Day-Agers” say that a day in Genesis 1 is an indeterminate amount of time and the earth is billions of years old. The “Young Earthers” maintain that a day refers to 24 hours and that the Earth is only six thousand years old. Then there are ideas located somewhere between these two extremes. I have my ideas, but to tell the truth, I wont be surprised either way at what God or His angels tell me when I reach eternity.

You see I know one thing for certain… Every word in that book is truth. Now I may not fully understand that truth to its fullest, but someday I will and that’s good enough for me. Look at what Paul wrote the church at Corinth. I Cor 13: 9 For we know in part and we prophesy in part; 10 but when the perfect comes, the partial will be done away. … 12 For now we see in a mirror dimly, but then face to face; now I know in part, but then I will know fully just as I also have been fully known. At the moment, we don’t know everything. God lets us know what we need to know and what we need to know is the way to salvation and eternal life. The day will come when we know fully. That will be when The Creator says we are ready, and not before then. It is enough to know that God don’t lie.

I have discovered two amazing truths… The less I read the Bible, the less I want to read… but the more I read, the hungrier I get for His Word and the more I read, the more I remember.

These words have life, and life abundantly. I really do not understand how a person can read any portion of this book and not be changed. Yes, I know the “Begats” can be a challenge, but there is some interesting information contained in those genealogies.

Check this out… Methuselah died before his father. The flood occurred the same year that Methuselah and His son, Lamech, died. Interesting…

I have found that every time I read a scripture, I gain a new understanding of God. It matters now how many times I’ve read it before. You cannot read the Bible enough. Just when you think you know it all, God shows you some hidden gem in an obscure passage. Reading the Bible goes hand in hand with prayer. When we read, God talks to us. When we pray, we talk to God. Conversation is good and reading with a prayerful mindset, puts in tune with the Creator.

He died for me; I’ll live for Him

Steve (Hoss)

About santahoss

Retired Educator Happily Married 30+ years

Leave a Reply

